Native North Texan returns home in 42nd STREET!

377912_51ffac464ace40f98d324baf3d6162f1.jpg
Sarah Fagan

Hi! It’s Sarah Fagan here, ensemble member of the national tour of 42nd Street, coming to Bass Performance Hall this week. I’m happy to share some of the experiences I’ve had on tour and get y’all excited to see our show!

While you may see me claim to live at 333 Park Avenue in New York as my character Diane Lorimer, I’m from Arlington, Texas! I am lucky to have a supportive family who took me to see theatre at the Bass Performance Hall from a young age.

In fact, my grandparents took me to see 42nd Street at the Bass Hall years ago, so I am thrilled to get to perform the same show for them all these years later on the same stage!

We started rehearsing 42nd Street in New York back in August, and have been touring the country since September. Fort Worth will be our 64th city on this 65 city tour!

We’ve seen sights including Mount Rushmore, Yosemite National Park, the Liberty Bell and Niagara Falls. We’ve performed in such exciting cities as Chicago and Los Angeles. Even so, nothing compares to the excitement I have to finally be back home performing in Fort Worth!

12045269_10156127921530440_4535025048012487363_o.jpg
The ladies of 42nd Street strike a pose in front of Mount Rushmore!

The best part of being an ensemble member is the amount and variety of dancing we get to do. There’s tons of tap dancing of course, but there’s also ballet, ballroom, jazz, and even a few showgirl kick lines. And for every dance, there’s a different gorgeous costume. I have 11 costumes, six pairs of shoes and two wigs!

12002791_10206178504435929_2228310690902779320_n.jpg
That’s me on the left with my friend Kahila Davis in the iconic costumes from “We’re in the Money.” 

One of the hardest parts of tour is being away from home. That is made easier when you have a little bit of home with you! Three other Texans travel alongside me, including Matthew J. Taylor, who plays director Julian Marsh, and Caitlin Ehlinger, who stars as Peggy Sawyer. Mandy Modic, fellow DFW native and ensemble member, happens to be my roommate! We bonded fast and I can’t imagine tour life without her!

Touring with 42nd Street has been a dream come true. It is an honor to perform this iconic choreography by Randy Skinner and share the story of this heartwarming backstage musical co-written by our director Mark Bramble. Our spectacle of a show is sure to wow Fort Worth! Come meet our dancing feet!

377912_a9df4f49ac8843558990010fb928901c-mv1.jpg
That’s me in the middle starring in 42nd Street as Diane. Photo by Christian Dionne. 

 

 

One thought on “Native North Texan returns home in 42nd STREET!

Leave a Reply

