Texas-born actress takes you behind the curtain of `Wizard of Oz’!

First Tech Day.  Microphones, Lights, Theater Oh My!
First day of tech. Microphones, lights, theater, oh, my!

Hey y’all! This is Rachel Womble, your very own Glinda the Good Witch writing to you from the North American tour of The Wizard of Oz! I am so happy to be able to share a little bit of my adventure with you, as I make my way home to Bass Performance Hall this summer.

Glinda’s big song in the show, “Already Home,” is one of the brand-new numbers written by Andrew Lloyd Weber and Tim Rice. It is a gorgeous musical moment where I get to teach Dorothy that no matter where you go, and what you experience, home is always there waiting for you. This is quite an applicable lesson as I spend this year travelling North America about as far away from family and my home state of Texas as I could be.

Representing my Favorite Team, the Cowboys! - Age 6
Age 6, representing my favorite team – the Dallas Cowboys!

I grew up in Sherman just a little ways up the road from beautiful Bass Hall. I went to college at Rice University in Houston, and then set off for New York City to attend graduate school at NYU. New York is such a busy city, and I am really excited to perform in cities that feel a little more like home.

Check back with me here each month as I share photos, stories from the road, and introductions to the other Texans I am lucky enough to call my colleagues!  If you want to see even more, follow my Instagram.

I cannot wait to bring this magical show to the Lone Star State, and especially to Bass Hall this summer. I am so looking forward to seeing you, and remember, “There’s No Place Like Home!”

First Time in Full Costume!
My first time in full costume! See you soon, Fort Worth!

4 thoughts on “Texas-born actress takes you behind the curtain of `Wizard of Oz’!

  1. We love you very much Rachel and are so proud of you and look forward to seeing you perform. You were just a tiny tot the last time we saw you. Now we get to see Rachel the adult perform. I look forward to poking the person next to me and saying. Yep , that’s my niece.

Leave a Reply

